Sign up for our Newsletter
Arrow Back to all events



Centered around American composer Perry Goldstein’s multifaceted Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet (2006), this program traverses the music from Eastern Europe to the US and its spiritual and folkloric origins. Stravinsky’s Three Pieces for Solo Clarinet (1918) is a kaleidoscopic masterpiece inspired by jazz and ragtime, Bartok’s Duos for Two Violins (1931) are based on his fieldwork of collecting tunes from Hungary and its neighboring countries, and Florence Price, a pioneer African American composer, features folksongs and spirituals in her “Five Folksongs in Counterpoint” (1951). 


Music Program
Igor Stravinsky – Three Pieces for Clarinet Solo
Bela Bartók – selections from Duos for Two Violins
Florence Price – Five Folksongs for string quartet
I. Calvary. Adagio vigoroso
II. Clementine. Tempo moderato
III. Drink to me only with Thine eyes. Andante cantabile
IV. Shortnin’ Bread. Allegro
V. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot. Andantino
Perry Goldstein – Quintet for Clarinet and String Quartet 
I. Movement
II. Movement
III. Movement



Front row table (Min 4 seats): $ 125/per person
(Includes 2 glasses of wine and a cheese/salami board/per person)
General audience: $ 85/per person (Includes 1 glass of wine)
Members of Rites of Spring: $ 60/per person (Includes 1 glass of wine)
Children Under 16 FREE